Visa Support

visa-support to Germany: One of the most important things to sort out if you want to come to Germany is the entry visa. Germany, as many countries in the world, requests a visa to enter its territory. In this article, we will explain clearly three main topics; the Schengen Visa, the visa-free program and how to apply for a visa for Germany.

  • What if I live in a Schengen area or if I have a Schengen visa?

Schengen is an agreement signed by some European countries which allows the elimination of border controls between participating countries and strengthens control of the external borders with non-Schengen neighboring states. The agreement was signed by a group of 26 countries, including four non-EU members (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland). There are also six countries belonging to the European Union but not within the Schengen region.

These countries are Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania, Ireland and the United Kingdom. There are also three small states de facto within this region because they have no control over their borders with the countries of the region such as Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican. Schengen allows about 400 million EU citizens, as well as legal residents, to move freely through member states.

  • What is the visa-free program?

This is the program that allows people from certain countries to enter the Schengen area without a visa for up to three months. For example, a historic agreement between Ukraine and Europe was recently signed in May 2017, giving Ukrainian biometric passport holders the possibility of visa-free access to the participating EU countries and the Schengen area.

The legal provisions have entered into force on 11 June 2017. However, the decision to exempt Ukrainians from entry visas to all EU countries doesn’t include Britain, Ireland, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland. 

  • Countries who enjoy the visa-free program


The Ukraine is not the only country that enjoys this kind of system. Many other countries also partake, such as: Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina , Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Malaysia, Mauritius, Monaco, Monaco, Montenegro, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, the Holy See, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Serbia , Seychelles and Taiwan (with a passport marked Identity), East Timor, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Vanuatu.

  • People who need a visa to Germany

The Visa for Germany is divided into two main types; firstly, the Schengen visa, which is valid for less than or equal to three months and it is given for purpose of tourism, for trade, for a family visit or to learn the German language. Secondly, the semi-permanent visa (called the “National Visa”) is given for more than 3 months for a certain specified purpose such as for work, study or searching for work. The National Visa is provided to people who intend to reside long-term in Germany.

  • Conclusion

As a result, if you are coming from a European country that signed the Schengen agreement, then you don’t need a visa to Germany. For those who come from countries which is part of the visa-free program, then you are allowed to stay in Germany up to three months.

If you need a visa to Germany, then you need to apply for a Schengen visa. This visa will allow you to enter and stay in Germany for a maximum period of 3 months (90 days). Having this visa doesn’t mean that you are allowed to get a job (not even as a freelancer).

As a participant of our programs, the Excellence Center in Europe will help you getting the visa “if you need it” by providing you with an invitation letter stamped by the center. This helps you to prove your purpose of visiting Germany.